from the only solid Red State

It takes everyone liberal and conservative to run the politics of the engine we call America! Patrotic American warriors defend with their life the right of pacifists to hold the wrong opinions. The Blogmaster harbors some populist ideas and believes in free enterprise as opposed to corporate monopoly capitalism. This is a mostly GOP friendly blog. jdm

Friday, December 29, 2006

The Fortune 500 Families States of America...the FFF*

While we still have a lot of freedom that most nations do not enjoy we are however in the grasp of mega corporate control. With their flocks of lawyers and billions of public relations dollars they control us as sure as if each of us had a knife to our throats while encompassing less than 1% of the population. The prevailing mantra that only those favored by public notoriety or the wealthy are qualified to serve in public office is the common formula used to pick candidates for our leadership. The FFF* family foundations keep an incessant pressure on our bureaucrats and legislators to retain the favored status of the FFF*. The posting of this article is being done by a man who has spent 7 decades as a patriotic citizen and I remain so but those who thru their lobbyists have exempted the common posterity from the benefits they jealously guard government for the almost exclusive use of FFF* members by manipulating the laws of our nation for FFF* benefits. While there is some infusion of common people DNA from time to time ... for the most part they are genetically linked and inbred for generations far back in history. The answers to this problem lie with the electorate.
My recommendations include:
1. Your own ideas regardless of your station in life or how much government school indoctrination you have received.
2. Vote for the challenger if all things are equal.
3, Elect few lawyers but try to limit their membership in lawmaking bodies to their percentage of the voters( less than a third of 1% of the total population).
4. Get involved at the precinct level and get elected as an official.
5. Boycott corporations who subscribe to a one world view.
5. Boycott products that support anti-family values and use anti-family values spokespersons.
6. Repeal all pork barrel laws that provide corporate welfare including farm, airline, and any others not provided to every citizen. Vote for anti Pork candidates.
7. Hug your loved ones everyday and pray together as a family.
8. Ignore the Hollywood crowd as role models and boycott media that glorify them. They are as a group the most immoral, unpatriotic and uninformed group in our country.
9. Break up the monopoly of multi broadcast media station ownership by corporations and require ownership and management by local residents. It is the Public Media and not the Corporate Media! In fact while you are at it ... repeal all corporate laws and return personal responsibly to the business community.
10. Dismantle the Federal Reserve and return control of the money supply to the Treasury Department.
11. Dismantle the State and National Education departments and prohibit by law the National Education Association and State Teachers Associations from interfering with teachers and with parental control of the education of their children at all levels and return local control to school districts where parents have a vote. Prohibit the bestowing of tenure and reinstate performance standards on educators at all levels of schooling.
12. Pray that God will return our nation to rational thinking common sense leadership at all levels.

Forward this post to every address in your mail system after adding your own views and deleting those of mine with which you disagree!

2006/12/29...God bless America...Jimmie Martin, Blogmaster

Wednesday, December 27, 2006

US Supreme Court rules we are a Christian nation

US Supreme Court Justice David Brewer wrote...
We classify nations in various ways as, for instance, by their form of government. One is a kingdom, another an empire, and still another a republic. Also by race. Great Britain is an Anglo-Saxon nation, France a Gallic, Germany a Teutonic, Russia a Slav. And still again by Religion. One is a Mohammedan nation, others are heathen, and still others are Christian nations.

This republic is classified among the Christians nations of the world. It was formally declared by the Supreme Court of the United States. In the case of Holy Trinity Church vs. United States, 143 U.S. 471, that court [meaning himself], after mentioning various circumstances, added "these and many other matters which might be noticed, add a volume of unofficial declarations to the mass of organic utterances that this is a Christian nation."

But in what sense can it be called a Christian nation? Not in the sense that Christianity is the established religion or that people are in any matter compelled to support it. On the contrary, the Constitution specifically provides that 'Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof.' Neither is it Christian in the sense that all of its citizens are either in fact or name Christian. On the contrary, all religions have free scope within our borders. Numbers of our people profess other religions, and many reject all. Nor is it Christian in the sense that a profession of Christianity is a condition of holding office or otherwise engaging in public service, or essential to recognition either politically or socially. In fact, the government as a legal organization is independent of all religions.

Nevertheless, we constantly speak of this republic as a Christian Nation--in fact, as the leading Christian Nation of the world.

Blogmasters note: In November ABC poll results showed that 83% of our citizens identified themselves as Christian, 4% as other religions and 13% had no clue. When all else fails ... count the steeples!

In contrast Ruth Bader Ginsberg and her ilk ruled for the Pagans in the 2005 case linked below.

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, who wrote the majority opinion in favor of Wiccans in 2005...we've come a long way since 1905

The choices we make

We all make choices in life. The choice to live in a high risk storm area like Florida, Oklahoma, Texas and New Orleans. We should be willing to take the chances living in high risk areas bring for the good weather and climate we are adapted to.
When the harsh winds of fate blow our way we should be man enough to pick up our own pieces locally and not cry out to compassionate federal authorities to throw money at us. It is of humor all the billions that were wasted on politically connected contractors in Oklahoma and Louisiana after our disasters. Some money filtered thru to the ones affected but gosh I remember that the serious money flowed free and fast to truckers and other subcontractors in our area. Disaster under federal bungling supervision brings strife and grief to some and boondoggle riches to others. We must return to personal responsibility and not load on the national debt on our grandchildren before the world banks foreclose.Another good reason we need people like Tancreda and Tom Coburn in our highest office.

President Ford walked the line

A view from ye ole conservative on old Route 66
G. Gordon Liddy and his fellow burglars at the Watergate were looking for proof that the democrat running for President was accepting money from Castro. If they had found the proof which history says existed then our nation would have traveled a far different path. Nixon was a good president and bipartisan historians will remember his great accomplishments and play down that he tried to protect his operatives. In the grand scheme of things the shadows hold content that can only be guessed at by those of us who not privy to Cuban cigar smoke filled back rooms. The liberal old media are quick to roast Nixon but they never never tell you the story about what the burglars were looking for or that it was proven the Democrats were in league with Castro.
Gerald Ford adeptly guided the nation thru rocky partisan times

Sadaam Hussien hangs today and his people cheer

And the world was a better place four years after they drug his statue down! It is a pity that his countrymen can only hang him once. He was a horrible Hitler clone and faces the wrath of God in his post death interview with the Creator. May peace come to his savaged land as they breath the air of freedom from this despotic insane mind for the first time in decades. Of course his grandchildren will be raised to assert their royal rights..but that is for another generation to solve. Bring the troops home...the job is done and is a success. Let the citizens of Iraq sort out the future for themselves. With CNN embedded we can watch.

A national progessive religion without Jesus Christ

God says He laughs at the foibles of mere mortals who shake their fist in His face
Humanism is a liberal progressive philosophy of life that, stripping God from national recognition , claims to affirm human ability and responsibility to lead ethical lives of personal fulfillment without help from the Creator. Which of course God allows thru free will..."but the end therof" is bleak. Humanism is the philosophy of public government education at all levels.
Note: When the humanist says without supernaturalism they mean "without Jesus Christ" and atheistic self worship is what they foster on our country!

The American Humanist movement is an outgrowth of the efforts of ACLU founder John Dewey considered the father of the mega failure we call modern education. It is the prevalent view of the National Education Association and has cast its shadow over the miseducation of our children as the test scores plummet. It is the prevalent view practiced by most Supreme Court Justices and finds its way into recent law at an alarming rate. It has sprinkled into its views some good and honorable points but the overriding philosophy is the rejection of the Christian foundation of our country and God and His Holy Writ. The mainline churches while calling themselves Christian have by and large adopted the Humanist Creed. It embraces liberalism, abortion, homosexuality, and a one world government wholeheartedly. It is the legitimate offspring of Marx and could have been predicted by our Lord as an "end time religion" ..."having a form of religion but denying the power therof".
Humanists are the force behind removal of God from our schools, public buildings and monuments
The Humanist agenda will make all faith based verbiage be codified into law as Hate Speech. They would change Freedom of Religion to Freedom from Religion!

Oklahoma City Bombing congress report December 27, 2006


Bombing links

Charles Key's group
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
OKC BOMBING FALLOUT
Probe of Islamic ties
'obstructed' by feds
Congressman who chaired panel says public
'would be outraged if they knew the extent'

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted: December 23, 2006
1:00 a.m. Eastern
By Art Moore
© 2006 WorldNetDaily.com
Justice Department hallway http://worldnetdaily.com
Federal officials were "outrageously obstructive" during a congressional probe examining possible Islamic terrorist and foreign ties to the 1995 Oklahoma City bombing, according to a congressman who disclosed to WND some of the highlights of a subcommittee report scheduled for release next week.
"The public would be outraged if they knew the extent of obstruction, or lack of cooperation, that has been given to this investigation," said Rep. Dana Rohrabacher, R-Calif., who led the probe as chairman of the International Relations' Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Congress report rebukes FBI for Oklahoma City investigation
By JOHN SOLOMON
Associated Press writer Wednesday, December 27, 2006
[oas:casperstartribune.net/news/national:Middle1]
WASHINGTON -- The FBI failed to fully investigate information suggesting other suspects may have helped Timothy McVeigh and Terry Nichols with the 1995 Oklahoma City bombing, allowing questions to linger more than a decade after the deadly attack, a congressional inquiry concludes.

click headline for link to story in Casper Star Tribune
Charles Key, Distict 90 Oklahoma Representative
Perhaps Charles Key's efforts to full investigate the attack on our city by Islamic radical foreign agents working with McVeigh and Nickels will take up the search for John Doe 3 that was ordered dropped by the FBI the day of the bombing. See link above to Charles Key group and congratulate him.
Thnks to all who persisted in this uncovering

Tuesday, December 26, 2006

I may be dumb but I'm not stupid


I have been in Oklahoma for about 7 decades and for at least 6 of those decades I have exercised some cognitive prowess and have what is called a photographic memory. So I remember the years of seasons of my life and it just is not so that our weather is changing. We have had hot and cold and tornadoes and dust storms and droughts and floods and a lot of Indian Summer days. From my early youth I have heard my elders say "If you don't like the Oklahoma weather ... just wait...it will be different tomorrow...and it was. The political weather fortune hunters are just out and out disinformation peddlers. I support our Senator Tom Coburn in his standoff with them. Go get em Doctor!
Coburn for Senate 2008

Monday, December 25, 2006

OKC bombing report due Wednesday

Congress will release the result of two years of study of the Oklahoma bombing on Wednesday. The Blogmaster was near the site downtown and helped transport victims to area hospitals after the attack. The local media was cooperating with local police based on eyewitness reports and looking for a mixed race group in an old pickup most of the day after the 9AM bombing. The FBI ordered local officials to drop that search in the afternoon. Views OK will publish comments on the report and links to the congressional document when it is released on Wednesday.
Jayna Davis a reporter with Channel 4 in Oklahoma City has much to say about this event. Jayna Davis comments
The target of her investigation (who filed a libel lawsuit against her) was Hussain Hashem Al-Hussaini and so the plot thickens. Jayna is the author of the exhaustive book about the OKC bombing 'The Third Terrorist: The Middle East Connection to the Oklahoma City Bombing'.
A friend of mine who was the Program Director of WKY (then talk radio)kept beating the drum about Arab connections and tho young dropped dead of a "heart attack" in his front yard a few months later. Gaylord leased the station to KTOK within weeks of the death and fired the whole staff. Seemed strange to me. I had a Cell Fone and Pager shop downtown and when they closed Main Street they shut me off from my customers. I did live feeds for several radio stations around the nation during that time including about thirty minutes on the G. Gordon Liddy show. A sad time for our nation if enemies of freedom really were involved in this horror. The ATF guys in their ninja suits were all over our town and treated us like an occupied enemy territory. I talked to some and they were stone cold with no since of humor. The absence of American cloth flags on their uniforms struck me because most law enforcement people have that patch.

Sunday, December 24, 2006

Red's Tater and Oklahoma Lefty agree!

This flag is apolitical

News From The Oklahoma Lefty


Another progressive blogger to accept my offer is Dave at The Oklahoma Lefty blog.

Dave and I have traded barbs and disagreed so much that another blogger has the question "Will Red Stater and Oklahoma Lefty EVER agree on anything?" in an opinion poll.
Well, here's the answer.
Oklahoma Lefty and Red Stater stand together as Americans (not lefty's or rightwingers) today and I give the credit to Dave.
As I said below about Otter, it's not easy to speak out against all those who normally agree with you. It takes guts (courage). Dave has courage (guts).
I don't know much about Dave, but he has two children and is a very proud dad that is for sure.
He is passionate about politics and studies religion from a variety of perspectives and someday hopes to be a published author. Dave writes about all things progressive and contributes to several blogs besides Oklahoma Lefty on a regular basis.
I hope his dream to publish his work comes true even though I probably won't agree with much of it. (as if that matters)
-red
Here is Daves post in full from Oklahoma Lefty...



Victory
Red Stater posed a couple of challenges to “liberal bloggers” to help unite the country over the war in Iraq. It’s hard to image uniting the country over this issue and admittedly I was skeptical of this “offer.”

After reading both of the posts in question, I was still skeptical until I got to this part:



“Disclaimer: Supporting victory does not mean you believe that victory is assured or that you even believe we are in a war, (or that you like Bush) but does mean that IF we are in a war, and IF victory is possible, that you support said victory. ie: Victory in Iraq.”


This is actually reasonable. Often what you hear and read from supports of the Bush administration is that if you disagree with the President then you are obviously against the troops (I spelled it right this time) and hate America. In the quote above, Red has shown an understanding of the flawed nature of to this way of thinking. We will never all agree on everything, but there are some things that we can all I agree on and I think we can all agree that we need to succeed in Iraq. Where many disagree is how that success will be achieved.

I’m in favor of drastically increasing our troop levels in Iraq to properly stabilize the country and give them time to get their infrastructures up and running. We owe them that. Life under Saddam was horrible, but most of them knew how to play the game. It was a terrible existence but they knew the rules. We shattered that and now there are no rules. It is possible that if we left, then the Iraqi’s could find their own feet, but that doesn’t seem right to me. We have a moral obligation to help them achieve stability and a working government.

Much of the criticism of the war has been based on its execution (and why we went to war, but that is beating a dead horse at this point). The war has been run poorly to say the least and that needs to change. I think if the strategy drastically changed in Iraq and we saw those changes having positive results, then more people would support the war. Anti-war folks often quote the polls that show 70% of America being against the war. The fact is that the masses at not always right. There were millions of people who were against desegregation. They were wrong. There were millions of people against giving black and women the right to vote. They were wrong. There were millions of people of purchased Brittney Spears and Jessica Simpson CD’s. Those people were definitely wrong (or at the very least have no taste).

A while back I wrote a post about the possible ways to end the war. I wrote about possibly leaving and possibly increasing out troops and how we need to either crap or get off the pot. We cannot continue with this war the way its been run and hope to succeed. We need change. We need a new direction in Iraq that helps us help the Iraqi’s win back their country. Now that we are there, we need to succeed in Iraq.
-Dave

The generations come and go from a Martin great great great grandfather who was born in Georgia and lived in Texas to his Martin descendant who lives in central Oklahoma the DNA marches on to the future. Christianity...The link that binds them...A belief in a time beyond time when we shall all be together again. As shure as the Son does shine in that day we will have the tears wiped from our eyes by our Creator and so shall we be forever...joy after joy as the ages undfold.
. Yellow Hills Tiny Chapel pictured here
.
.
/
.

A day...a glorious day is coming!

Yes, "the crowning day is coming,"
and all heaven shall soon resound with the triumphant song, "Thou art worthy...for Thou wast slain and hast redeemed us to God by Thy blood" (Rev 5:9).
The shameful Cross will be followed by a glorious crown, and "every tongue shall confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father."
"Mighty Victor, reign for ever,
Wear the crown so dearly won;
Never shall Thy people, never
Cease to sing what Thou hast done.
Thou hast fought Thy people's foes;
Thou wilt heal Thy people's woes!"

It is well with my soul..

Click twice on the player to play midi from SmickandSmodoo.com Words & Music By:
________________

Sequenced by:
Sal Grippaldi

(Play / Download)

List of links for more midi selections at bottom of our site or click here to go to SmickandSmodoo
smickandsmodoo home page

Name this famous author from Oklahoma


You can join his favorite society here in Oklahoma! The group he credited with giving him his basic writing skills...
Poetry Society of Oklahoma
Louis L'Amour who wrote over 100 novels and was a founding and lifetime member of the Oklahoma Poetry Society of which the Blogmaster is a Vice President...we meet monthly at the Greens...link above

Latest news from Digg...opinion with a leftist slant

.
fairly unbalanced...interesting and worth reading...presented by this blog as an acknowlegment of the great contributions liberalism has made to all of us by providing an easy to refute rhetoric. thank you!

The time is now!

How can you set there with that smug look on your face ... eternity comes fast and you don't know your place ... Fate is standing in the dark shadows playing to your pride ... and here you are unconcerned like time was on your side ... The day will come when your ladder of life has no more rungs ... and all your choices will expire with the breath in your lungs. .. The nearest Bible can help you make your choice of eternal habitation ... for you can find Christ Jesus in every book from Genesis to Revelation. .. jdm2006/02/09" posted on http://tinychapel.blogspot.com Want to talk about eternity?mailto:jdmartin@pldi.net

Blog Archive

Poem of my youth...composed on October 23, 2006

Tracks of a friend in the snow I have lain on the path of bone chilling fear ... watched as the death angel hovered near ... Midnight I rode the trail where black lion stalked ... my steed snorting his course stayed.. balked ... I lost my seat and the moon swirled around ... my head was the first to kiss frozen ground ... My body bounced down the Arbuckles crag ... the earth drank my blood and there I laid ... and dreamed the dream of death’s opening door ... of life unlived and path’s untracked with joy untasted ... my future my claim on living gone as I lay wasted ... but awareness came as light chased away the night ... My companion grazed close by had kept the cat away ... snow tracks around my death bed testified to his stay ... my shirt red soaked with life’s precious fluid staining the ground ... I drug my pain racked body to the saddle and started down ... past the still waiting mountain lion eyes peering from thick weeds ... the smell of my blood kept him waiting to quench his savage needs ... I looked back as he smelled my blood spilled in the snow where I lay ... then followed us for awhile before turning to find unguarded prey ... Danpatch went to equine heaven during the next season’s winter strife ... But in my dreams I still count the tracks of my friend who saved my life. . . jdm10/23/2006 based on a true occurrence with some literary license applied...My dad was a cowboy and Danpatch had been his favorite horse until he was retired to be my horse. At the time of the poem Danpatch was over twenty years old and I was 12.

Gold Star mother at Berkley city council

Onion News Network attacks tough issue effecting gas prices

Alfalfa Bill Murray

Alfalfa Bill Murray
The father of Oklahoma from Tishomingo

Number ONE issue in 2008 elections from ONN

A funny spoof that reminds me of the liberal progessive mind set!

Worth watching...thoughtfull look at attack on America~

Don't Tread on My Flag


We must be very concerned about who we elect as President and Commander in Chief...They must be willing to affirm the Christian roots of this country and the heritage of free enterprise and religious freedom. The must disavow any connection to any other world opinion than one that puts American interests first! They must pledge to never be the instrument of American submission to any authority that subverts the High Law of the Constitution of the United States.At the very least as a potential Commander In Chief of United States Armed Forces they must be able pass and receive a personal Top Secret Clearance background check that we demand of our defenders.God Bless the USA Keep us Free!
Powered By
widgetmate.com
Sponsored By
Apply for Credit Cards

Take a break from reality...

Take a trip into the future at BreakingFutureNews.com Click here Misspelings and gramatical errors are a signature literary techinque of the writer

muslimsforobama.com

muslimsforobama.com
A recemt fund raiser for Obama
This "letters to editor" allows the reader to post opinion on subjects listed. We will delete posts or replies in poor taste or personal attacks on individuals. The Blogmaster's opinions predate the current rash of right wing rhetoric. Some say he is stuck in 1958! If you want to submit a post send it to the blogmaster or comment on the posts below.
Note: Some posts are moved to Draft status when no longer timely...if you need the post just email me and I will send you the copy.
***A conversation requires two or more opinions or it becomes a rally.***

Blog Community groups



. Click here and ..Come visit my store on CafePress ! .
Search
The National Guard...the first and last line of defense Warrior patriots defend with their life your right to make the wrong choices. Thank you Ladies and Gentlemen for your service!jdm2006/12/29 Visit the state Guard website
- Bloglines Subscriptions Thu, 30 Nov 2006 20:28:32 GMT - Click here
Your Ad Here
Sheikh Mubarak Gilani Forms Terrorist Compounds Inside United States In one of the most callous displays of indecency toward the victims of 9/11, Charlotte County, Virginia has a road sign named after an international terrorist, called “Sheikh Gilani Lane.”


MoveOff Banner System
Opinion Oklahoma This "letters to editor" allows the reader to post opinion on subjects listed. Thus the www is a better media for the opinion writer in that no editor gets to pick and choose the views that are published. We will delete posts or replies in poor taste or attacks on individuals. If you want to submit a post send it to the webmaster below. Creating a good post or reply on Opinion Oklahoma Dot Com Be concerned about the brevity of your posting or reply. Get to your main point in your first sentence and use the fewest words to make your main point. Stay on one topic. Effective communication requires short sentences. Numbers detract from the central point. Keep your bromides out of your postings or replies. Correct spelling, grammar and punctuation will help sell your idea. Spell check and reread your postings before submitting. Topics in the news are likely to get more readership. Appeal to your readers logic rather than emotion. Good posting!
Oklahoma Opinions...
www.ViewsOK.com...www.OkieLife.com...www.blogokie.com

A conversation that does not have two or more opinions becomes a rally.

Tiny URL

Enter a long URL to make tiny:

Dot Com names sale

paid ad Great Web Site dot com names for sale... some perfect for Oklahoma commentators http://pundant.blogspot.com

Amazing animated musical E-Cards...click picture of the month to view

Jacquie Lawson e-cards

Living on the edge in Oklahoma Tornado Alley

Double click on video and then double click on midi player for a lttle background music...I hear you knocking but you can't come in~ ....the blogmaster stood on his patio and watched the tornado (largest ever recorded I guess) that swung thru Bridgecreek, Newcastle, and down to devistate Moore, Oklahoma also. It was a mile wide as I watched it pass between Walmart and the gaming center off Hwy 37 & I44. Sequenced by:
Unknown

(Play / Download)

You're nobody til 51 percent loves you
You're nobody til 51 percent cares
You may be Senator
You may possess the lobeyists and all their gold
But gold won't bring you a happy election
Why ...you are already old


The world still is the same, you will never change it
As sure as the stars shine above
You're nobody til 51 percent loves you
So find yourself somevoters to love

Hey Senator you missed the boat by being a fake conservative. Palin for President in 10



The world still is the same, you never change it
As sure as the stars shine above
Well, you're nobody til 51 percent loves you
So find yourself somevoters to love<

Blogmaster featured in ChiCom internet mag

Make your own free clipart like this @ www.TXT2PIC.com with free web based tools (hundreds of image generators that run through a web broswer, no software to buy or install).
Made with free image tools @ TXT2PIC.com

Mine own self I write to gratifie....John Bunyun of Pilgrims Progess said it best..

". . . I did not thinkTo shew to all the World my Pen and InkIn such a mode; I only thought to makeI knew not what: nor did I undertakeThereby to please my Neighbour; no not I;I did it mine own self to gratifie."
I write here in Oklahoma Opinion my heartfelt opinions some inherited from my father and grandfathers and codified along my 71 year journey from Bromide, Oklahoma to Newcastle, Oklahoma. Read my words, make up your own mind and love your nieghbors and your country.

Neal Boortz worthy comment

"You are not a tool of the state. You are not to be used as political cannon fodder for the elevation of a politician or political movement. You belong to you, nobody else, and certainly not to the government. Claim your ownership of yourself and let these politicians know that you recognize and reject their war on the individual." "Somebody's Gotta Say It" by Neal Boortz. Regan Books February 20, 2007 Neal is a Christian baiting pinhead but is Right on most other stuff...God can forgive him...

the Eye of God
Poem about my youthful dance with the death angel...composed on October 23, 2006

Tracks of a friend in the snow

I have lain on the path of bone chilling fear ... watched as the death angel hovered near ... Midnight I rode the trail where black lion stalked ... my steed snorting his course stayed.. balked ... I lost my seat and the moon swirled around ... my head was the first to kiss frozen ground ... My body bounced down the Arbuckles crag ... the earth drank my blood and there I laid ... and dreamed the dream of death’s opening door ... of life unlived and path’s untracked with joy untasted ... my future my claim on living gone as I lay wasted ... but awareness came as light chased away the night ... My companion grazed close by had kept the cat away ... snow tracks around my death bed testified to his stay ... my shirt red soaked with life’s precious fluid staining the ground ... I drug my pain racked body to the saddle and started down ... past the still waiting mountain lion eyes peering from thick weeds ... the smell of my blood kept him waiting to quench his savage needs ... I looked back as he smelled my blood spilled in the snow where I lay ... then followed us for awhile before turning to find unguarded prey ... Danpatch went to equine heaven during the next season’s winter strife ... But in my dreams I still count the tracks of my friend who saved my life.


. . jdm10/23/2006 based on a true occurrence with some literary license applied...My dad was a cowboy and Danpatch had been his favorite horse until he was retired to be my horse. At the time of the poem Danpatch was over twenty years old and I was 12. Gosh I miss him!

Best Bumper sticker this month

The father of Oklahoma

The father of Oklahoma
Cuckle Burr Bill Murray