from the only solid Red State

It takes everyone liberal and conservative to run the politics of the engine we call America! Patrotic American warriors defend with their life the right of pacifists to hold the wrong opinions. The Blogmaster harbors some populist ideas and believes in free enterprise as opposed to corporate monopoly capitalism. This is a mostly GOP friendly blog. jdm

Thursday, July 19, 2007

Coburn asks Pentagon for spending review

At a time when Secretary of Defense Robert Gates is asking Congress for an additional $1.3 billion for additional funds for armored vehicles to protect our troops, Dr. Coburn is asking Secretary Gates to help him identify wasteful congressional earmarks that, in many cases, do nothing to protect our troops.




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Foster, Roland (Coburn)
Sent: Thursday, July 19, 2007 11:19 AM
Subject: Senator Coburn Asks Pentagon for Review of Each and Every Defense Earmark



Senator Coburn sent the attached letter to the Secretary of Defense today requesting a critique of whether or not each earmark carved out of the Pentagon’s budget “is useful and cost effective in advancing the goals of the Department” as well as “an analysis of the impact of the unnecessary earmarks on the Department’s budget priorities.” The letter notes “since most members of Congress are not experts on defense systems and military hardware, guidance from military experts is needed to ensure defense dollars are wisely allocated.”



The letter is a result of the extreme difficulty faced by this office in obtaining meaningful information about the over 300 earmarks contained within the DoD authorization bill debated by the Senate this week from the sponsors or the recipients of those earmarks.







July 19, 2007



Dr. Robert M. Gates
Secretary

Department of Defense

1000 Defense Pentagon
Washington, DC 20301-1000



Dear Secretary Gates,



With Congress now routinely passing emergency Defense supplemental appropriations bills costing upwards of $100 billion every year, there is no justification for Congress to misspend defense dollars on frivolous and wasteful pork projects. This is especially true since guaranteeing that our troops have the best armor, weapons, and medical care should be the highest priority of Congress, rather than securing earmarks for wealthy defense contractors and campaign donors.



The total amount spent on Congressional pork projects, known as “earmarks,” in Defense appropriations over the past five fiscal years has cost taxpayers approximately $55 billion.[1] The House Fiscal Year 2008 Defense authorization bill committee report includes 13 pages of charts with 458 individual projects totaling $7.7 billion. The Senate Defense authorization bill discloses 309 earmarks costing a total of $5.6 billion.[2] An analysis completed by Taxpayers for Common Sense, however, claims that the bill contains 90 additional undisclosed earmarks at a cost of $8 billion.[3]



This is an overwhelming number of projects and since most members of Congress are not experts on defense systems and military hardware, guidance from military experts is needed to ensure defense dollars are wisely allocated.



Last year, the Senate twice overwhelmingly approved an earmark “report card” that would have directed the Pentagon to determine the cost effectiveness of Congressional pork projects. Both times, the language was stripped during closed door conference meetings with the House of Representatives. The only reason to oppose this analysis, of course, is to hide from taxpayers the fact that many Congressional pork projects costing tens of millions of dollars are unjustifiable and wasteful.



The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) has previously issued a Statement of Administration Policy (SAP) asking Congress not to fund unnecessary or wasteful projects. The National Drug Intelligence Center (NDIC), for example, has “proven ineffective in achieving its assigned mission, and the Administration believes closure of NDIC and reassignment of its missions to other organizations represents a step towards more efficient coordination and management of counter-drug intelligence activities,” according to OMB.[4] Yet, Congress has earmarked nearly $240 million for the NDIC over the past five fiscal years.



There are plenty of other examples.



Last year, the Washington Post published an article titled “The Project That Wouldn’t Die; Using earmarks, members of Congress kept money flowing to a local company that got $37 million for technology the military couldn’t use.” Vibration & Sound Solutions Ltd., a Virginia defense contractor, has received a steady flow of federal funds for various purposes and, according to the Post, “all the applications have one thing in common: The Pentagon hasn’t wanted them.”[5]



The DP-2 aircraft has received $63 million in taxpayer funds-- entirely through earmarks-- despite a series of Pentagon and NASA studies that from the beginning found fault with the project.[6] More than $40 million has been earmarked to 21st Century Systems Inc. (21CSI) for the development of military software yet only one piece of that software has been used-- in a single Marine camp in Iraq-- and it is no longer in use.[7]



This year, nearly $1.7 million was earmarked for Arcadia Biosciences, based in Seattle to improve the shelf life of vegetables. The funding would help “establish and evaluate variant populations of bell pepper, cantaloupe and strawberry.”[8]



These are just a few examples of the wasteful earmarks funded through the Pentagon that have siphoned away funds from our national defense budget.



Earmarks contained within Defense appropriations bills have been linked to a number of recent Congressional corruption and ethics probes. Congressman Randy “Duke” Cunningham resigned from the House of Representatives after he admitted to taking $2.4 million in bribes from two defense contractors. Federal investigators are examining whether Congressman Jerry Lewis, as the House Appropriations Chairman, abused his position by steering earmarks to his political allies and former employees. The Wall Street Journal notes that, “the Lewis episode underscores the link between Member-steered earmarks and the opportunity for corruption. Convicted lobbyist Jack Abramoff openly boasted that earmarks were his political currency and he called the Appropriations Committee that doles them out a ‘favor factory’ for lobbyists.”[9]



Following last November’s elections, the incoming Chairmen of the House and Senate Appropriations Committees promised “to restore an accountable, above-board, transparent process for funding decisions and put an end to the abuses that have harmed the credibility of Congress.” With no Senate earmark rules changes yet in effect, the Senate Appropriations Committee has apparently decided to abandon the pledge to “place a moratorium on all earmarks until a reformed process is put in place.”



It is obvious that taxpayers and policymakers can not count on Congress to provide transparency for how federal funds will be spent. We can only guess as to whether or not projects inserted into legislation are for necessary national security purposes or to satisfy the parochial self-interests of politicians and defense industry lobbyists.



I would, therefore, request that the Department provide a critique of each earmark contained within Defense appropriations and authorization bills within 48 hours of being reported out of the House and Senate committees. Specifically, I would like to know whether or not the Defense Department believes each earmark is useful and cost effective in advancing the goals of the Department and if not, why. Please also provide an analysis of the impact of the unnecessary earmarks on the Department’s budget priorities.



This will provide needed information to lawmakers about projects inserted into bills that have not had proper oversight, debate or discussion. It will also ensure that every member of Congress can cast a truly informed vote on how federal funds are to be spent and provide a better understanding of the impact of unnecessary earmarks on overall military preparedness, our national defense, and other defense-related priorities.



Thank you for your assistance with this request. I look forward to working with you to ensure our troops have the resources and support they need to win the war against terrorism and protect our nation.



Sincerely,







Tom A. Coburn, M.D.

U.S. Senator







--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[1] Citizens Against Government Waste, “Pig Book, 2002- 2007 editions; http://www.cagw.org/site/PageServer?pagename=reports_pigbook2007

[2] http://armed-services.senate.gov/Publications/S%201547%20FY08NDAA%20Projects.pdf

[3] http://www.taxpayer.net/budget/fy08authchart.html

[4] Statement of Administration Policy, “H.R. 2862, Departments of Commerce and Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations Bill, FY2006,” September 8, 2005; http://www.whitehouse.gov/omb/legislative/sap/109-1/hr2862sap-s.pdf

[5] Charles R. Babcock. “The Project That Wouldn't Die,” Washington Post, page D1, June 19, 2006;

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2006/06/18/AR2006061800631.html?referrer=emailarticle

[6] Jerry Kammer and Paul M. Krawzak. “Pentagon rejected aircraft built by campaign donor,” San Diego Union Tribune/COPLEY NEWS SERVICE, June 13, 2007; http://www.signonsandiego.com/news/politics/20070613-9999-1n13airmark.html
[7] Paul Goodsell. “Firms count on Congress for funding,” Omaha World-Herald, April 29, 2007; http://www.omaha.com/index.php?u_page=2798&u_sid=2374508

[8] “Murray and Cantwell Announce Senate Approval of nearly $57.5 million in Job-Creating Defense Contracts for Washington State,” press release, September 29, 2006

http://murray.senate.gov/news.cfm?id=264157

[9] “Earmarker in Chief,” Wall Street Journal, June 15, 2006, page A14; http://online.wsj.com/article/SB115033555119580784.html

Tuesday, July 17, 2007

Coburn Issues Census Challenge




Seeks to Harness Private Sector Innovation to Bring Down Cost of 2010 Census



(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – U.S. Senator Tom Coburn, M.D. (R-OK) today issued a challenge to the private sector calling for proposals to address the rapidly rising cost of the 2010 Census. The challenge will go out to those in industry, academia, government and elsewhere who may have innovative ideas for bringing the cost down.



“The American people are far more innovative than their government in almost every respect. The Census Bureau’s reluctance to employ new methods and online tools goes against the grain of common sense. If we can collect taxes online from any tax filers, surely we can count every American quickly, inexpensively and accurately,” Dr. Coburn said.



At a hearing this afternoon of the Subcommittee on Federal Financial Management (FFM), the Census Bureau will announce that the most recent cost of the next census is estimated to be at least $11.5 billion. When broken down on a per household basis, it will cost more than $90 to count each household.



The Government Accountability Office has reported that the 2010 count is vulnerable to potentially fatal management and technical failures, as well as the massive cost over-runs that have characterized each Census in recent decades. The cost has gone from under a billion dollars in 1970, doubling by 1980 ($2.2 billion), increasing by 50 percent in 1990 ($3.3 billion), doubling again in 2000 to $6.6 billion and now doubling again to somewhere around a projected cost of $12 billion for 2010. The American population has not increased at a proportional rate. In fact, the per-household cost of the first census in 1790 was less than a penny. In 1970, it was under $2. Yet somehow, the cost today is at $90 per household. The Census Bureau has refused to provide an option to Americans to be counted online, despite the fact that more than 70 percent of American adults are online.



“It is time for out-of-the-box thinking to rein in costs, increase efficiency and still fulfill the Constitutional mandate to count every American,” Dr. Coburn said.



The objectives of the Census Challenge will be:



· To receive numerous proposals from successful businesses, technology and logistics experts and creative citizens throughout America for innovative ideas for ways to conduct the census for less than $90 a household and still maintain high data quality.



· To collect the proposals and to present them to the Secretary of Commerce and the Director of the Census Bureau for their consideration and comment.



· To consider the possibility of legislative remedies that may assist the Census Bureau in conducting a more efficient and effective decennial census.



To submit proposals, visit the FFM Web site at
Coburn site

The generations come and go from a Martin great great great grandfather who was born in Georgia and lived in Texas to his Martin descendant who lives in central Oklahoma the DNA marches on to the future. Christianity...The link that binds them...A belief in a time beyond time when we shall all be together again. As shure as the Son does shine in that day we will have the tears wiped from our eyes by our Creator and so shall we be forever...joy after joy as the ages undfold.
. Yellow Hills Tiny Chapel pictured here
.
.
/
.

A day...a glorious day is coming!

Yes, "the crowning day is coming,"
and all heaven shall soon resound with the triumphant song, "Thou art worthy...for Thou wast slain and hast redeemed us to God by Thy blood" (Rev 5:9).
The shameful Cross will be followed by a glorious crown, and "every tongue shall confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father."
"Mighty Victor, reign for ever,
Wear the crown so dearly won;
Never shall Thy people, never
Cease to sing what Thou hast done.
Thou hast fought Thy people's foes;
Thou wilt heal Thy people's woes!"

It is well with my soul..

Click twice on the player to play midi from SmickandSmodoo.com Words & Music By:
________________

Sequenced by:
Sal Grippaldi

(Play / Download)

List of links for more midi selections at bottom of our site or click here to go to SmickandSmodoo
smickandsmodoo home page

Name this famous author from Oklahoma


You can join his favorite society here in Oklahoma! The group he credited with giving him his basic writing skills...
Poetry Society of Oklahoma
Louis L'Amour who wrote over 100 novels and was a founding and lifetime member of the Oklahoma Poetry Society of which the Blogmaster is a Vice President...we meet monthly at the Greens...link above

Latest news from Digg...opinion with a leftist slant

.
fairly unbalanced...interesting and worth reading...presented by this blog as an acknowlegment of the great contributions liberalism has made to all of us by providing an easy to refute rhetoric. thank you!

The time is now!

How can you set there with that smug look on your face ... eternity comes fast and you don't know your place ... Fate is standing in the dark shadows playing to your pride ... and here you are unconcerned like time was on your side ... The day will come when your ladder of life has no more rungs ... and all your choices will expire with the breath in your lungs. .. The nearest Bible can help you make your choice of eternal habitation ... for you can find Christ Jesus in every book from Genesis to Revelation. .. jdm2006/02/09" posted on http://tinychapel.blogspot.com Want to talk about eternity?mailto:jdmartin@pldi.net

Blog Archive

Poem of my youth...composed on October 23, 2006

Tracks of a friend in the snow I have lain on the path of bone chilling fear ... watched as the death angel hovered near ... Midnight I rode the trail where black lion stalked ... my steed snorting his course stayed.. balked ... I lost my seat and the moon swirled around ... my head was the first to kiss frozen ground ... My body bounced down the Arbuckles crag ... the earth drank my blood and there I laid ... and dreamed the dream of death’s opening door ... of life unlived and path’s untracked with joy untasted ... my future my claim on living gone as I lay wasted ... but awareness came as light chased away the night ... My companion grazed close by had kept the cat away ... snow tracks around my death bed testified to his stay ... my shirt red soaked with life’s precious fluid staining the ground ... I drug my pain racked body to the saddle and started down ... past the still waiting mountain lion eyes peering from thick weeds ... the smell of my blood kept him waiting to quench his savage needs ... I looked back as he smelled my blood spilled in the snow where I lay ... then followed us for awhile before turning to find unguarded prey ... Danpatch went to equine heaven during the next season’s winter strife ... But in my dreams I still count the tracks of my friend who saved my life. . . jdm10/23/2006 based on a true occurrence with some literary license applied...My dad was a cowboy and Danpatch had been his favorite horse until he was retired to be my horse. At the time of the poem Danpatch was over twenty years old and I was 12.

Gold Star mother at Berkley city council

Onion News Network attacks tough issue effecting gas prices

Alfalfa Bill Murray

Alfalfa Bill Murray
The father of Oklahoma from Tishomingo

Number ONE issue in 2008 elections from ONN

A funny spoof that reminds me of the liberal progessive mind set!

Worth watching...thoughtfull look at attack on America~

Don't Tread on My Flag


We must be very concerned about who we elect as President and Commander in Chief...They must be willing to affirm the Christian roots of this country and the heritage of free enterprise and religious freedom. The must disavow any connection to any other world opinion than one that puts American interests first! They must pledge to never be the instrument of American submission to any authority that subverts the High Law of the Constitution of the United States.At the very least as a potential Commander In Chief of United States Armed Forces they must be able pass and receive a personal Top Secret Clearance background check that we demand of our defenders.God Bless the USA Keep us Free!
Powered By
widgetmate.com
Sponsored By
Apply for Credit Cards

Take a break from reality...

Take a trip into the future at BreakingFutureNews.com Click here Misspelings and gramatical errors are a signature literary techinque of the writer

muslimsforobama.com

muslimsforobama.com
A recemt fund raiser for Obama
This "letters to editor" allows the reader to post opinion on subjects listed. We will delete posts or replies in poor taste or personal attacks on individuals. The Blogmaster's opinions predate the current rash of right wing rhetoric. Some say he is stuck in 1958! If you want to submit a post send it to the blogmaster or comment on the posts below.
Note: Some posts are moved to Draft status when no longer timely...if you need the post just email me and I will send you the copy.
***A conversation requires two or more opinions or it becomes a rally.***

Blog Community groups



. Click here and ..Come visit my store on CafePress ! .
Search
The National Guard...the first and last line of defense Warrior patriots defend with their life your right to make the wrong choices. Thank you Ladies and Gentlemen for your service!jdm2006/12/29 Visit the state Guard website
- Bloglines Subscriptions Thu, 30 Nov 2006 20:28:32 GMT - Click here
Your Ad Here
Sheikh Mubarak Gilani Forms Terrorist Compounds Inside United States In one of the most callous displays of indecency toward the victims of 9/11, Charlotte County, Virginia has a road sign named after an international terrorist, called “Sheikh Gilani Lane.”


MoveOff Banner System
Opinion Oklahoma This "letters to editor" allows the reader to post opinion on subjects listed. Thus the www is a better media for the opinion writer in that no editor gets to pick and choose the views that are published. We will delete posts or replies in poor taste or attacks on individuals. If you want to submit a post send it to the webmaster below. Creating a good post or reply on Opinion Oklahoma Dot Com Be concerned about the brevity of your posting or reply. Get to your main point in your first sentence and use the fewest words to make your main point. Stay on one topic. Effective communication requires short sentences. Numbers detract from the central point. Keep your bromides out of your postings or replies. Correct spelling, grammar and punctuation will help sell your idea. Spell check and reread your postings before submitting. Topics in the news are likely to get more readership. Appeal to your readers logic rather than emotion. Good posting!
Oklahoma Opinions...
www.ViewsOK.com...www.OkieLife.com...www.blogokie.com

A conversation that does not have two or more opinions becomes a rally.

Tiny URL

Enter a long URL to make tiny:

Dot Com names sale

paid ad Great Web Site dot com names for sale... some perfect for Oklahoma commentators http://pundant.blogspot.com

Amazing animated musical E-Cards...click picture of the month to view

Jacquie Lawson e-cards

Living on the edge in Oklahoma Tornado Alley

Double click on video and then double click on midi player for a lttle background music...I hear you knocking but you can't come in~ ....the blogmaster stood on his patio and watched the tornado (largest ever recorded I guess) that swung thru Bridgecreek, Newcastle, and down to devistate Moore, Oklahoma also. It was a mile wide as I watched it pass between Walmart and the gaming center off Hwy 37 & I44. Sequenced by:
Unknown

(Play / Download)

You're nobody til 51 percent loves you
You're nobody til 51 percent cares
You may be Senator
You may possess the lobeyists and all their gold
But gold won't bring you a happy election
Why ...you are already old


The world still is the same, you will never change it
As sure as the stars shine above
You're nobody til 51 percent loves you
So find yourself somevoters to love

Hey Senator you missed the boat by being a fake conservative. Palin for President in 10



The world still is the same, you never change it
As sure as the stars shine above
Well, you're nobody til 51 percent loves you
So find yourself somevoters to love<

Blogmaster featured in ChiCom internet mag

Make your own free clipart like this @ www.TXT2PIC.com with free web based tools (hundreds of image generators that run through a web broswer, no software to buy or install).
Made with free image tools @ TXT2PIC.com

Mine own self I write to gratifie....John Bunyun of Pilgrims Progess said it best..

". . . I did not thinkTo shew to all the World my Pen and InkIn such a mode; I only thought to makeI knew not what: nor did I undertakeThereby to please my Neighbour; no not I;I did it mine own self to gratifie."
I write here in Oklahoma Opinion my heartfelt opinions some inherited from my father and grandfathers and codified along my 71 year journey from Bromide, Oklahoma to Newcastle, Oklahoma. Read my words, make up your own mind and love your nieghbors and your country.

Neal Boortz worthy comment

"You are not a tool of the state. You are not to be used as political cannon fodder for the elevation of a politician or political movement. You belong to you, nobody else, and certainly not to the government. Claim your ownership of yourself and let these politicians know that you recognize and reject their war on the individual." "Somebody's Gotta Say It" by Neal Boortz. Regan Books February 20, 2007 Neal is a Christian baiting pinhead but is Right on most other stuff...God can forgive him...

the Eye of God
Poem about my youthful dance with the death angel...composed on October 23, 2006

Tracks of a friend in the snow

I have lain on the path of bone chilling fear ... watched as the death angel hovered near ... Midnight I rode the trail where black lion stalked ... my steed snorting his course stayed.. balked ... I lost my seat and the moon swirled around ... my head was the first to kiss frozen ground ... My body bounced down the Arbuckles crag ... the earth drank my blood and there I laid ... and dreamed the dream of death’s opening door ... of life unlived and path’s untracked with joy untasted ... my future my claim on living gone as I lay wasted ... but awareness came as light chased away the night ... My companion grazed close by had kept the cat away ... snow tracks around my death bed testified to his stay ... my shirt red soaked with life’s precious fluid staining the ground ... I drug my pain racked body to the saddle and started down ... past the still waiting mountain lion eyes peering from thick weeds ... the smell of my blood kept him waiting to quench his savage needs ... I looked back as he smelled my blood spilled in the snow where I lay ... then followed us for awhile before turning to find unguarded prey ... Danpatch went to equine heaven during the next season’s winter strife ... But in my dreams I still count the tracks of my friend who saved my life.


. . jdm10/23/2006 based on a true occurrence with some literary license applied...My dad was a cowboy and Danpatch had been his favorite horse until he was retired to be my horse. At the time of the poem Danpatch was over twenty years old and I was 12. Gosh I miss him!

Best Bumper sticker this month

The father of Oklahoma

The father of Oklahoma
Cuckle Burr Bill Murray